JANEY AIREY

london-aquatic-centre-london-2012-olympics-airey-spaces-1london-aquatic-centre-london-2012-olympics-airey-spaces-11

Whilst scouring through AOP’s website for different works of photographers, I stumbled across someone called Janey Airey; who’s ‘Aquatics’ project stood out to me more so than the rest. I really enjoy the use of block colours and the powerful contrasts between the blues, pinks and yellows merged with the neutrality of white, allowing these colours to really flourish and keep our attention focused on the detail of what the photograph contains, making Airey’s technique effective because the image gives the viewers eyes a lead from all aspects of the photograph by allowing such spacious locations to look almost 2D and even in a way, ‘compressed’. It feels to me like Airey really spent some time analysing and engaging herself with this particular location to be able to create such vibrant images, which I most certainly admire.

Leave a comment