PERSONAL 2

As much as I love the sunset, and it’s one of my favourite things in the whole world. I have way too many of the same images from the perspective of my balcony. Tonight’s winter sunset was one of the best I’d ever seen but I wondered how I could use this opportunity to snap my photos in a more interesting technique. In sixth form, I had learnt a lot about working with a slow shutter speed and how to produce long exposure images (usually with a tripod) but the wonky lines and floating light trails were much more interesting to me than the predictable straight through beams. Having the camera handheld in this shooting mode achieves those wonky lines for me and elevates a still image to a much higher level in my opinion. I included a few images featuring straight light trails also, but my favourite ones still remain the uncoordinated photographs.

The first one is my overall favourite; I named it ‘The Abyss’.

s11sun2s10sun5sun3sun6

Leave a comment