IDEA DEVELOPMENT – SHEA GLOVER

Screen Shot 2019-10-17 at 23.00.57

I remembered an article (or internet post) I saw a while ago of a young photographer named Shea Glover who video documented herself photographing the students in her high school before and after complimenting them. During the taking of the images she says to each person “I am photographing things that I find beautiful” and instantaneously captures the moment of their reaction and it is clear as day how this innocent interaction illuminates the whole frame with natural beauty and an incredible aura! I was taken aback by how simple, yet powerful these images are, especially in side by side comparison with one another. It truly highlights the captivating nature of positive human to human engagement above all else. This reflects so loudly in Glover’s final images and really gave me a boost of confidence in how important and thought-provoking my own photographs may turn out to be, if executed in the correct way.

Leave a comment