RIVER THAMES – AREAS OF INTEREST

facts2

The Grain Battery Tower is an area of interest for me as I noticed it first in Julia Fullerton-Batten’s work and I love what she did with it, but I wondered what it would look like from a closer view and how I could highlight the details of it. From the image it doesn’t look like a very big construction but I can imagine in real life it would have a lot more to it than what I can see here.

My digging up about facts led me to discover that the Thames is home to about 80 different islands in which some are inhabited by people! I had no idea about this so I looked into the Islands and wrote down a list of some I wanted to explore further.
This project is an opportunity for me to spend some time OUTSIDE of London, for once, and get to know a bit more about the countryside and other areas of the UK. some of these Islands are situated in places like Reading and Kent which aren’t too far for me to head out to if I had the necessary plan of action to do so. I just figured that London is always the centre of everyone’s attention but there’s so much more to the Thames than just what we see when we’re walking along Southbank. I have also been trying to locate the source of the Thames but apparently its debatable as to where it starts. I will try to look into that a bit further so I can find out what the area is and what surrounds the beginning of the Thames.

Leave a comment