TESTING

Below are some images I shot as a test by the balcony window in my room and to be honest, I do really appreciate how they turned out as I thought I’d have more trouble with the lighting.

I encouraged my sister to form numerous shapes and contortions with her body (as much as she was physically able to) but I didn’t want to guide her throughout the whole shoot, as I wanted her to bring her own personality out through the photograph’s and her movements. I feel that music really helps to set a great atmosphere and in this instance, it definitely aided my sister in releasing the tension in her body and allowing it to move in time with the beat. A lot of these images are her own poses.

To dig a touch deeper into the body’s rhythm and the transitions it can present, I intend to shoot in different rooms of my house that offer different lighting which hopefully adds some interesting shadows and grooves.

I am slightly behind on this work, due to some hindering circumstances. However, I really am striving to bring something eerie and enchanting to my photographs, as essentially it reflects a below-the-surface level of personal confliction and struggles of my own. These are ongoing and with this work, instead of trying to “win” them over, I want to incorporate and nurture them into something creative and beautiful.

IMG_4854IMG_4860IMG_4861IMG_4862IMG_4866IMG_4884IMG_4901IMG_4915IMG_4926IMG_4936IMG_4952IMG_4963IMG_4980IMG_4988IMG_4991IMG_5012IMG_5025IMG_5036IMG_5063IMG_5110

Leave a comment