IDEA DEVELOPMENT – BETTINA VON ZWEHL

Screen Shot 2019-10-17 at 23.14.00.png

Another great reference that Geraint directed me towards, is a photographer named Bettina Von Zwehl, who sets tasks for her models to complete, before photographing them. As I am aware, featured in the bottom three images are models who have had to complete a 20 minute cardio session on a treadmill before being photographed! (LOL) and judging by their facial expressions, they are not in the slightest bit overjoyed or amused about such an instruction. I am not entirely sure what the top 3 models have had to endure or engage in, and I need to dig further into my research to find this out.
I really like this reference of images, because nobody is posed or exuding a false sense of displeased emotion for the camera, as cruel as it might seem, this is where the beauty lies. I feel as if we do not get to see such raw and unfiltered impressions very often in the industry, particularly the fashion photography industry which is my field of interest, so this refreshes my spirit by allowing me to revel in the genuine facial expressions and body language in images such as these.

Leave a comment