CONCEPT CHANGE – (POST QUARANTINE GUIDELINES)

Screen Shot 2020-05-09 at 18.10.52

I made the uncomfortable decision of having to alter my concept to something that would be more accessible for me to shoot in my own home, due to the Covid-19 crisis. I have had this idea for a long time for one of my personal projects but never got around to setting it up, my initial idea was to use dancers wearing a full bodystocking to create varied shapes and figures with their bodies. It seems much more relevant during this particular time because it reminds me of restriction and a type of confinement that is closed off but not suffocating. Many months ago, I ordered two of these mesh bodystockings from amazon in the colours nude and black, with the intention of directing this shoot towards a long exposure/slow-shutter speed path, as a way of allowing the body to free-flow in movement, and capture the transitions in a ‘ghost’-like manner. These particular movements would relate to another part of my inspiration which is insomnia. It’s something I consistently suffer with and the hours lain awake remind me of the twists and turns through the night, that long exposure may be able to reflect creatively, paired up with the bodystocking.

Leave a comment