PHOTOSTORY – RESEARCH

For my photo-story research on Motherhood, I looked at photographer Sophie Morris who had done a similar project to mine and her images really reflect the kind of vibe and feel that I am also aiming to portray with my own photographs. I admire how Morris has not paid so much attention to the lighting and location, but instead she has just dived into trying to capture each special moment. When it comes to children, you might never get the same moment twice. I’ve put in some of her other images from another project of different stages of a pregnant woman showing a variety of poses as well as nudity, I enjoyed seeing how natural and raw this process was and Morris really reflects that with minimal or no editing, what seems to be natural lighting and mostly, I like the idea that she has potentially built up a relationship with this woman over the course of her pregnancy and got to see her in her most constant state.
I have also included a mixture of photo’s from other photographers who have focused a bit more on playing with lighting, shadows, poses and even location.
All the images I have used tell their own great, individual story and highlight a real connection between mother and child that does not need any sort of direction or conduction from the photographer, just a capture of a second.

Leave a comment