MUSIC RESEARCH

The first thing I wanted to do was have a look through my playlist, as I have quite a few different genre’s sitting in there and was interested to see what kind of album/single covers artists had opted to represent their music with. I noticed that quite a few significantly popular or ‘best selling’ artists (such as Drake) often use their portrait as the cover for their music. Perhaps this is to reinforce simplicity into their art and show that not much is needed for their cover as the music speaks for itself, or is it just a reminder of who the music belongs to? hard to distinguish sometimes. I screenshotted a number of different cover images so I could have various comparisons between people’s work. What interests me is how the choice of artist image resonates with their content or their personality even; how does the photograph attract the viewer/listener’s attention? how does the set up of the effects of the photo such as the colour and composition influence how we judge the artist or their music? It’s usually the first thing we see before we play the actual song so it has quite an impact on the audience.

Leave a comment