RESEARCH 3 – I.T.M (RETRIEVAL)

I viewed quite a couple of footwear campaigns on Youtube by various brands over the last few years to see what kind of visual ideas have been tried and tested. This helps me to evaluate what works well and resonates with my personal ideas, as well as what kind of similarities or differences I can spot within the videos.

I can definitely appreciate the creative visuals of this Steve Madden campaign because of the use of colour, variety and I really like the shots of the feet being up in the air (however, I do feel that there isa few too many of these) but all the same, the styling and general vibe of the video seems like a fun concept and pinpoints the purpose of the advert quite effectively.

This Hermes campaign is interesting to me because the use of block colour is more often than not, an complete win aesthetics wise. Its simple, clean and I feel represents the image of high quality shoes that the brand is after. I like the use of different shapes to keep the video interesting instead of just one plain background, but I do feel like they could’ve used maybe one or even two more colours (maximum) just to switch it up a little bit more. Nevertheless, still a compelling advert.

What I like about this advert is the colours and lighting more than anything else, as the storyline itself was a tad confusing (Cara stopping off for a kebab or something just before she heads into the club) but I guess when a celebrity is featured in any sort of campaign, the focus is always more on the person than anything else, including even the product, in my opinion.

This Kurt Geiger campaign from 2012 is probably the most relatable out of all the ones I have posted here, because of the similarity of some of the shots I have planned and the background locations featured in the video. Even though it’s older than all the rest, I still like that it’s straight to the point and focuses completely on the shoes above all else. However, I feel that the actual shoes featured clash a little with their location, and the boots that I will feature in my video will be better suited in such locations.

This Cardi B advert for Reebok is really one of my favourites, if not my actual favourite because of all the styling components, the choice of celebrity and even the use of humour in the campaign. It’s really fun to watch as well as aesthetically pleasing and highlights the shoes so dramatically that we notice and actually remember them, unlike the Cara. D/Jimmy Choo collaboration.

I’ve now noticed that I seem to enjoy watching the trainer campaigns a lot more than some of the designer shoes that I have referenced in this post, and the reason for this is that I just feel the clean cut, contemporary and relatable adverts are so much more attention-grabbing than the editorial style campaigns. I love the use of neutral colours in this video and the hint of pink is just the necessary amount of intricate detailing that the video itself needs, no more and no less.

Again, Reebok impress me with their campaign, especially when they use a bunch of gorgeous women to convey a particular aura and attitude throughout the video. It’s an uncomplicated advert and it’s captivating when being able to feel all the energies that are being shared in the video between the models.

What I have learnt from watching all these video’s, is that when it comes to footwear, a lot of brands like to keep it simple more than anything else and the ‘high fashion’ companies are more likely to use components such as a storyline and celebrity features, but it’s not always necessary in my opinion, as I feel you don’t need very much to show off the specifics of the product. Sometimes simplicity goes a lot further than other factors and looks way better in the end outcome.

Leave a comment