REFERENCE – ARIS JEROME SIMMONS

Screen Shot 2020-03-05 at 23.23.01

IMG_9056

I have been following this US/Australian based photographer for quite a while now, named Aris Simmons (or Aris Jerome as commonly referred to) and I picked him for reference due to his sweet and subtle style of portraiture and the simplicity his photographs offer to the viewing eyes. Throughout my portraiture exploration, I have noticed my own fondness for close-up images of the face and in particular, the unbreakable bond between the subjects eyes and the camera lens. I referenced above some images shot by AJS using coloured backdrops and really enjoy how the subject and the surrounding atmosphere marries into one another accordingly without snatching focus from the main attraction of the image.

Leave a comment